Happy Cinco de Mayo and More!

Cinco de Mayo is a celebration held on May 5.  The date is observed to commemorate the Mexican Army’s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862, under the leadership of General Ignacio Zaragoza. In the United States, Cinco de Mayo is sometimes mistaken to be Mexico’s Independence Day—the most important national holiday in Mexico—which is celebrated on September 16.

Today also marks the day I became a mom for the first time.  On May 5, 1991 at 5:40PM, I gave birth to a tiny (5 lbs. 14 oz.) little girl that I named Danielle Elizabeth.  I had picked out this name in high school, because I liked the name.  I wasn’t planning on having kids at the time, but I told everyone that if I ever had a daughter, I would name her Danielle Elizabeth.

13119987_10208388788990247_1692926437680536811_o

I was a nervous wreck, because my husband at the time had left me when I was six months pregnant, and I knew I would be on my own mostly.  Luckily, I was blessed with very supportive parents and friends, who helped me along the way.  I thank God every day that He gave me this precious little girl, who is now a wonderful RN in Seattle, WA.  She has decided to come back to Texas, and will be moving back this weekend.  What a wonderful Mother’s Day gift!

I am also very blessed to have met a man 21 years ago, who decided to love me and Danielle enough to marry me and consider Danielle his daughter.  Glenn has been “Dad” to Danielle for most of her life, and I know he helped her become a strong, independent woman.  Two parents really do make a difference!

Have a wonderful day, and remember to thank God every day for all the blessings He has given you!

 

One thought on “Happy Cinco de Mayo and More!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

