Colossians 3:23

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,
I must remember this today!  I have a full time job with Costco Wholesale, and yesterday wasn’t a good day.  We are approaching the end of Costco’s fiscal year (ends August 31), and upper management always (for the last 4 years) has cut hours.  This has something to do with their bonus check that they get based upon the profitability of the store.
We have trained some new employees in my department.  They were cut yesterday, because my department manager was told to cut hours.  Since they were cut, me and the other full time employees had to bear the weight of Saturday shoppers at a very busy Costco store.  I had to stand outside in Texas heat and humidity to inform people of our new Visa card partnership with Citi Bank.  I was a sweaty and grumpy mess.  When one of the managers asked me to approach more people, I got very upset.  I didn’t say much, because I know when to hold my tongue.
Anyway, to make a long story short, I spent the rest of my shift being angry with upper management for worrying too much about their bonus check and not enough about the welfare of their employees.  That is why I’m really trying to make a go with my AdvoCare business–I would like to be able to eventually step away from Costco and set my own schedule and not get upset on how things are being run.
I also need to pray for my management team at Costco and remember that I need to do my job as if I am working for the Lord, and not these greedy men (women, too).
Thank you for reading!
One comment

  1. Joyfull Mom · August 14

    I am sorry you had a rough day yesterday. I know it takes a lot to hold your tongue when you just want to scream! What a testimony of Christ to those around you. I pray that your business will be successful! I applaud you for trying hard to build a better lifestyle that suits your needs. Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

